A Very Happy Post

Over the past three days, I have been compiling a list of the things that have made me happy as part of my posts for The Happiness Project. This week was an awesome week for me to do write about happiness because I had lots of fun things going on!

Yesterday I attended an event called WE Day, along with over 20,000 others student leaders who are passionate about social justice. The event featured inspired speakers (my favourite was Marlee Matlin), singers (Nick Jonas, Hozier, and Carly Rae Jepsen to name a few!), and activists (like Craig and Marc Kielburger, who founded Me to We and Free the Children).

If that wasn’t exciting enough, tomorrow I am going to a Taylor Swift concert (!!!!!). So, when all’s said and done, I know I will look back on this week as a happy one. Here are some of the other things that made me happy this week:

  • decorating mugs with my friends
  • wearing a new sweater I bought, and arriving at school to see one of my friends was wearing the same sweater (which we bought at the same time)
  • having this school year’s first Writing Club meeting
  • stealing my friend’s chips and cotton candy (that was on September 30th, which is apparently National Food Day… does that justify it?)
  • waking up to more gloomy weather (as I mentioned in one of my last posts, I love rain)
  • seeing so many inspiring people at WE Day
  • buying a Rafiki chain at WE Day (it’s a beautiful bracelet that goes to a great cause – check out this link for more info!)
  • reading (I’m currently reading Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower)
  • sewing with my mom
  • wearing a blanket scarf on the first day that truly felt like autumn weather
  • planning for exciting events in Student Council
  • tackling homework and feeling good about finishing it
  • making t-shirts with my friends for the Taylor Swift concert
  • eating cookies (this wasn’t on National Food Day, but cookies are delicious so I don’t feel the need to justify eating them)

What made you happy this week?

20 thoughts on “A Very Happy Post

  1. Marlee Matlin is one of the few deaf actresses that have ever been on TV. There was that girl from Weeds and then Jericho, but I can’t think of anyone else. It would be pretty cool to hear her speak to how she got into it and the challenges she faced. Today was a happy day because I finally got a little perspective on things happening recently.

  2. When you start noticing things that make you happy, you realize there are SO many things that make you happy, but we don’t notice them.

    I bet, you were very happy while compiling this list too 😉

  3. This is great! I think it’s so awesome to look at the positives throughout your day because it’s so easy to dwell on the negatives. Despite having rain for the past week and a half here, there have been so many positives to it as well! Sending you lots of joy and happiness this week!

  4. THAT’S SO EXCITING THAT YOU’RE GOING TO SEE TAYLOR LIVE!!! I love how stealing your friend’s food made you happy. I don’t think they were happy though haha. Also love The Perks; one of my favourite books ❤

Leave a Reply

