How I Will Remember My Final Year of High School

A few months ago, during the school year, I was looking for an event on the calendar on my school’s website. After I found it, for fun, I kept scrolling through the calendar. I reached the virtually empty summer months, which led into the next school year. I wasn’t sure what was motivating me to keep scrolling, but I didn’t stop. Eventually I saw an entry on the otherwise calendar. When I read what it was, I froze. A week was blocked off for grad photos. In that moment, the reality that I would be graduating stunned me.

I have been at my current high school for two years (this will be my third), and I absolutely love it. Looking back, my time there so far has been an amazing whirlwind of positive memories. I know my last year will be equally amazing, but it will also be emotional. Because it will be my last year, I want to remember everything – including the small moments, like how the air smells in the morning on the way to school, and smiling at friends in the hall between classes.

Of course I’ll miss my high school, because I have had so many great memories there, but I don’t want to feel nostalgic about it. This year I want to be present in every moment so that after I graduate, I don’t spend so much time walking down memory lane that I forget to get out there and make new memories.

beallthere

I plan to be present wherever I am by doing several things. Firstly, putting my phone away so I can really focus on the moment; secondly, taking stock of details in my mind to document later. The keyword there is ‘later’.

Last year, I was at a leadership conference with some people from my school. I was having so much fun that at one point I stopped to write everything down in a note on my phone, right in the middle of the excitement. Looking back, I was glad I had documented the memories I was making – but I wished I had remembered the moment without my phone, until later when I could write it all down without missing what was happening.

Another way I can be present in every moment is to clear my mind of anything else that I am thinking of, and focus on what’s happening around me. Even in amazing moments (like that leadership conference) my mind tends to wander and think of random things. It will be challenging to train my mind to focus only on what is happening around me, but ultimately I think it will be worth it.

I am confident that my last year of school will be amazing, and by being present in every moment I hope I can make it that much more special.

20 thoughts on “How I Will Remember My Final Year of High School

  1. I recommend taking at least a few pictures. When I finished high school, which was…well long enough ago that you weren’t born yet, we didn’t have these fancy “cell phones” that were equipped with nearly limitless digital recording capabilities. (We had to do something called “developing film.” It was time consuming and expensive.) And because of that, not nearly as many pictures were taken. (In fact I have none.) Don’t get me wrong, I think you have the right idea about living in the moment and all, but maybe you could get your cell phone (or digital camera) out a few times anyway. I don’t think you’ll regret it. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the great advice! I will definitely take advantage of the fact that I don’t have to develop film and can access a camera easily – after all, pictures are worth a thousand words, right? Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  2. I hope you have a wonderful last year. My last year at school was a long time ago now, but I still remember it fondly as a time when I’d finally realised who I was and where I wanted to be. I had good friends and have lots of good memories. Good luck to you.

  3. This is awesome! High school is definitely somewhat of a blur now that I look back (I’m in college!) and I wish that I had attended more football games, reached out to the community and more kids at my school, joined more clubs and really got to know my teachers.. also, spend as much time with your family as you can! Whether you believe me now, when you get to college you are going to miss them more than you could ever believe! Best of luck in your last couple years in high school! xxx

  4. I agree with Domingo in using your phone to document your year. I have very few pictures. You’ll soon be in the whirlwind that is life and memories will blur. Pulling out your photos will bring that moment in time back into focus.
    Thanks for stopping in to Drop and Hop! It has become a rager so stop back anytime to cruise and peruse. Okay. I need more coffee….

  5. Best of luck in your Senior year. I hope you can keep your promise to be present in the moment. I have twins who are seniors this year and I see the daily struggle between their phones and what’s going on at the moment!

  6. I remember my final year of high school. There was the dual feelings of relief to finally be closing down your high school career, while on the other hand the unsure feelings of what you would do next.

Leave a Reply

