What Blogging Has Taught Me

Today I woke up to an exciting WordPress notification: a trophy congratulating me on gaining 500 followers. When I started my blog almost two years ago, I didn’t really know what I was doing. I’m so proud of how far I have come! I have accomplished more than I thought I would, and I have also learned a lot.

In the past, I have written posts about blogging tips (you can find those posts here and here). Today, in celebration of 500 followers, I thought I would write a similar post – except, instead of it being about things I’ve learned that apply to blogging, it is things blogging has taught me in general. Enjoy!

1. Run with random ideas. We all get random ideas that pop into our heads. Some of them are brilliant; some of them are horrible. At first, it can be hard to tell if an idea is great or not. But if we don’t run with our ideas, and at least try to make something out of them, then we’ll never know what they could become.

My blog began as essentially a random idea. My English teacher was introducing a semester-long passion project, where we could work on any project we were passionate about, and starting a blog popped into my mind immediately. At that point, I literally had no idea what a blog was. Despite this, I chose to run with my idea; and today, looking back, I’m  so glad that I did.

2. There’s never a perfect time. When I had the idea to start my blog, I could have waited to create it. I could have done a ton of research, and spent time reading other blogs, until I felt more confident in my ability to manage a blog. There’s nothing wrong with doing these things, obviously, but if I had waited until I was confident I never would have started blogging. There is never a perfect moment to do something – so go ahead and do it.

I'm not sure who said this quote, but it's great!
I’m not sure who said this quote, but it’s great!

3. Hard work pays off. This is pretty obvious, but my experience blogging has really solidified it for me. If you want a certain result, work for it; your hard work will pay off. For example, it was at least a few months before I began getting consistent traffic to my blog. In those first few months I could have become so discouraged that I stopped blogging. However, I didn’t – because I knew that if I worked hard and kept writing, eventually it would pay off. Today, celebrating 500 followers, I can say that it certainly did pay off.

4. You can be taken seriously by adults – even when you’re a teenager. It has only been in the last few months, and with the Teens Tell Their Story project, that I have begun to tap into all of the amazing teen bloggers on the Internet. Before that, I assumed blogging – and in particular, WordPress – was adult-dominated. In some ways, it is. Yet, as a teenager, I’ve never felt inferior to adult bloggers.

In fact, I’ve been surprised how many people comment telling me they had no clue I was a teenager; and I’ve been even more surprised by the times when people know I am a teenager, but still give me feedback and comments as if I’m an adult. From this I have learned that in any area of life, no matter what factor you feel sets you apart from other people, you can still be accepted.
What have you learned from blogging?

34 thoughts on “What Blogging Has Taught Me

  1. Congratulations! That’s a crazy amount!! I think blogging has taught me to look out for more stuff, to write posts about, e.g. I ‘observe’ people more for my TypesOfPeople posts.

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Blogging has definitely taught me that, too – I read news articles I wouldn’t normally read, and find inspiration from all sorts of things simply because I can blog about it.

  2. Congratz on the achievement! I completely agree with the four points you raised, especially #2. If it’s important to you, you’ll find time, if it isn’t, you’ll find an excuse. Looking forward to more great content! 🙂

  3. Hi Sherina! Congratulations on earning 500 followers and wishing you many many more! I would also like to compliment you on your blog on lessons learnt from blogging…very clearly presented and apt lessons. Being a beginner myself, I can vouch for you that it is really difficult to earn so many followers and hard work is definitely the key.
    Well, I also realised just now that you are a teenager…definitely wise beyond your age. But in a sense, you are an adult in blogging world and people like me, the beginners, are the kids or teenagers…you see, we learn by experience and that’s the difference between grown ups and young people! So in blogging world we are your followers😉.
    Thanks for inspiring,
    keep writing, keep smiling!!

    1. Thank you so much!! That’s true as well that I’m a bit of an “adult” in the blogging world (as weird as it is to say)! And also definitely true that we learn by experience. Thanks again for your kind comment!

  4. Congratulations! As you say hard work pays off but that wouldn’t be any good if what you wrote didn’t resonate with readers. I know that some of the blogs that I read are written by people outside of my usual social sphere due to age, religion, location and life circumstances, and to me this is what is so wonderful about blogging, it let’s you into world’s that you didn’t know were there. I’m certainly enriched by your blog and all the others that I did into from time to time. Thank you! X

    1. Thanks, Krista! 🙂 I completely agree – some of the blogs I follow are different than what I write about, but I love having an insight into other people’s worlds through their writing!

  5. Sherina, first off, congrats on 500 followers! What I have learned from blogging is that one can create a community of interesting people from all over the world and in every category. What matters is the ideas that the words and pictures convey. Personal details are interesting but not essential to a success blog, imho. I never think about the age or location of anyone in my online community. I just enjoy their thoughts and experiences. I am glad to have discovered your blog. 😀

    1. Thank you so much, Beth!! I totally agree with everything you’ve said, especially your first point: I’ve found that no matter what a blogger’s “niche” is, there are people who will want to read their content!

  6. Congratulations on that many followers!! I have definitely learnt a lot from this! Thank you! I’m a newbie ^.^. Wish me luck!

  7. Congratulations on gaining so many followers!!! 😀
    I have recently started up blogging and what I have learnt in this short space of time is that it really frees you… Makes you calmer.. Happier.
    At least makes me!

Leave a Reply

