I Saw a Headline That Said the Word War and It Terrified Me

The word ‘war’ still makes me shudder, and I am hearing it more and more reflected in other words – “terrorism”, for example. I wrote this almost six months ago, but it is still hauntingly relevant to me.

sherinaspeaks

It seems silly to write about the things I usually do when I’ve seen several headlines today that used the word War. War is a scary word, but a scarier thing.

As I read through articles about what is happening in some places in the world, I sometimes wonder how the history of the times we live in will be taught, compared to the way I learned history at school. The more parallels I see, the more concerned I become about the state of the world.

Let’s take World War One for example. I remembered the causes thanks to a handy acronym, MAINS: militarism, alliances, imperialism, nationalism, and the spark. The spark of that war was the assassination of the archduke of Austria-Hungary, Franz Ferdinand.

When I read and hear about what is happening now, I can’t help but wonder what our spark would be. Is it in the article…

View original post 454 more words

2 thoughts on “I Saw a Headline That Said the Word War and It Terrified Me

Leave a Reply

