My New Years Resolutions (One Month Later)

Back at the end of December, I wrote a post about my New Years Resolutions for 2015. Now, one month into the year, I decided it would be fun to reflect back on my resolutions and see how I’m doing!

Resolution #1: Challenge myself in my writing: check! This month, I have challenged myself in my writing by entering story contests, applying for writing programs and trying to write about topics I hadn’t previously explored.

I started another blog that I write with my cousin. It is a collection of letters on various topics that we are passionate about. Check it out at www.thefabletters.wordpress.com! I also challenged myself to step out of my comfort zone with this blog. I became active on Community Pool, took part in Twitter blog shares, and spent more time engaging in the community. My stats show the payoff in this resolution – it’s totally worth it!

Resolution #2: Volunteer more: check, for the most part! I have been volunteering at a local long term care home for 6 years now. However when I wrote this resolution I didn’t have a weekly shift, so I booked one this month.

I also volunteered at my dance studio and through my school this month. I would like to continue working on this resolution by keeping up with my current volunteering, and keeping an open mind towards any new opportunities.

Resolution #3: Improve at social media: um, kind of? I’m getting better at Twitter, but there are still some things I can’t figure out (like, why do people not get notified when I follow them?). I joined Instagram which was fairly easy to get the hang of, and I am in the process of sorting out my personal accounts and my professional accounts.

Resolution #4: Read more: check! I’m happy to say that this month I made a point of putting aside time to read. I have a growing list of books to read, and I’m considering joining Goodreads so that I can keep track of everything that I have read and want to read. Currently, I’m reading The Afterlife of Stars by Joesph Kertes.

Resolution #5: Keeping my desk organized: check! After some extensive research (on Pinterest, of course) I decided that the less things on my desk, the better. The only permanent fixtures are a lamp, my laptop, a double sided picture frame, my 2015 Memory Jar, my cactuses (cacti?) and a few of my favourite notebooks.

The main problem with my desk used to be that I had tons of sticky notes everywhere. Now, I try to write everything in my agenda. My master “to-do” list is written on a sticky note and taped to my desk so it stays put.

Resolution #6: To live life, laugh, and have fun: major check! January was a fantastic month for me. My brother surprised us with a visit from Australia, and we had tons of fun. We went skiing last week, and it snowed for almost the entire day which was great! I also rode in a limo for the first time ever, which covered all points of this resolution!

Something that I’ve been trying to do this year is keep track of all of the amazing things in my life. One way I am doing this is through my memory jar. Whenever something funny or exciting happens I write it down on a small piece of paper, fold it and stick it inside the jar!

All of the resolutions I have outlined in this post really contribute back to making memories and having fun.  I can’t wait to open my memory jar at the end of the year and remember all of the fun I had throughout the year!


Did you keep your 2015 Resolutions?

9 thoughts on “My New Years Resolutions (One Month Later)

  1. I love memory jars! We have a “Good Things Box” – when awesome things happen, I write it on a slip and it goes in the box. We read them on New Year’s Eve and then I put that year’s slip into the hurricane vase that holds my brooch bouquet from our wedding. It’s a lovely tradition 😉

    I had to look back – it appears I didn’t set any resolutions for this year, which is odd, I think. I did, however identify my word for the year and my Core Desired Feelings, and with those, I feel like things are moving in the direction that I want them to. All in all, I’m happy with my progress so far in 2015 😉

  2. I hadn’t thought of a resolution just yet but I made up one a couple weeks ago. Take words lightly, improve on what you think could be holding you back and to enjoy life. Your blog is fabulous, I had a great time reading!

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. I love Goodreads for saving books to read. I created a shelf called 2015 empty shelf challenge and I save every book I read in 2015 to see my results for the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

