Don’t Quote Me On This!

Hey everyone! So I’ve noticed that a lot of bloggers have weekly features on their blogs, such as photo challenges, responses to other challenges, or features unique to their blogs. After a bit of thought, I’ve decided to start a weekly feature called Don’t Quote Me on This! Basically, each week, I will pick a new topic, and compile some quotes on the topic. They might be ones I like – or don’t! – or quotes that I find intriguing. Please let me know if you enjoy it! 🙂

This week, I thought I would start out with an interesting topic: quotes themselves. People seem to be rather split on the topic! Some think quotes are a measly excuse for not thinking for yourself, while others praise them. Read on, and decide for yourself!

“A quotation is a handy thing to have about, saving one the trouble of thinking for oneself, always a laborious business.” -A.A. Milne, If I May

“A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought.” -Dorothy L. Sayers, Gaudy Night

“Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.” -Oscar Wilde

On the other hand…

“I love quotations because it is a joy to find thoughts one might have, beautifully expressed with much authority by someone recognized wiser than oneself.” – Marlene Dietrich

“In the garden of literature, the highest and most charismatic flowers are always the quotations.” -Mehmet Murat ildan

“Quotations in conversations are torches in darkness.” -Vikrant Parsai

“In quoting others, we cite ourselves.” -Julio Cortázar, Around the Day in Eighty Worlds

What do you think about quotes, especially after reading those? I especially think the Oscar Wilde quote is a bit jarring, because everyone seems tries so hard to be “unique”, but in the end, there is only so much you can be that doesn’t already exist.

Please let me know your thoughts on this feature, and the quotes featured in it! What other topics should I cover? I really enjoyed finding these quotes… but don’t quote me on that.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Quote Me On This!

  1. I’ve noticed something odd about quotations recently. Many of them have the wrong name for the author.
    One of the funniest went something like this: “You can’t always trust what you read on the Internet” said by Abraham Lincoln 🙂

Leave a Reply

